Find Your Free Essay Examples

For sexual reproduction in plants, seeds are an essential element.

For sexual reproduction in plants, seeds are an essential element. This is formed as the end product of sexual reproduction in plants, and this is only for angiosperms and gymnosperms. Gymnosperms seeds are exposed because they have no fruits or flowers. On the other hand, angiosperms have matured ovules that will develop within the fruit after fertilization. This will consist of an embryo that is enclosed in a protective outer covering called the seed coat. An embryo is of three types – a radicle, an embryo axis and cotyledons. Based on the number of Cotyledons, seeds are divided into two –

Now, we will see what are Monocots and Dicots:

Monocots will have only one seed leaf inside the seed coat. Most of the time it is only a thin leaf because the endosperm to feed the new plant is not inside the seed leaf. Examples of Monocot Seeds: Rice, wheat, maize, bamboo, palm, banana, ginger, onion, garlic, lilies, daffodils, iris, tulips are examples of Monocot seeds. Characteristics of Monocot Seeds:

The structure of Seed monocot is explained below:

Dicot seeds(Dicotyledons) are the seeds which have two embryonic leaves and cotyledons. They are one of the two groups into which all the flowering plants were divided. Examples of Dicot Seeds: Bitter gourd seeds, Castor seeds, Mango seeds, Neem Seeds, Night Jasmine seeds, Papaya seeds and, Tamarind seeds. Characteristics of Dicot seeds:

Dicots are also known as Dicotyledons. All the flowering plants or angiosperms are divided into groups. So far there are about 2,00,00 species of cotyledons have been discovered. In dicots, the embryo will have an embryo axis and two cotyledons. The appearance of cotyledons is swollen as they preserve the food for developing seedlings. There are two ends for the embryo axis. The formation of shoot tip called plumule and root tip at the lower end called the radicle. This content is covered with a protective coat called seed coat which is made up of Testa and Tegmen. The difference between the Monocot and dicot seeds are mentioned below:

Answer:  The three types of the embryo are – embryo axis, radicle, cotyledon.

Answer: It’s a group of flowering plants that have two seed leaves. Dicot Example- Bitter gourd seeds, Castor seeds, Mango seeds.

Answer: Mono means one and a cotyledon is a seed leaf. Monocot Example – Rice, wheat, maize, bamboo, palm, banana, ginger.

Answer: Yes, dicot seeds can store food materials.

Answer: Embryos of monocot seeds have one large cotyledon which is called scutellum.

Answer: In dicot, the embryo consists of the embryo axis and two cotyledons.

Answer: Around 2,00,000 species of dicotyledons have been discovered.

Answer: The seed coat is made up of an outer layer called testa and an inner layer called tegmen.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Save my name, email, and website in this browser for the next time I comment.

Leaves of monocots have parallel veins

Leaves of dicot have branched veins

Parts of the flowers in monocot are in threes

Parts of the flower in the dicot are more than three.

Vascular bundles are throughout the stem’s ground tissue

Vascular bundles are arranged in a ring

Thin and small, lacks food materials

Endosperm is present and stores food

The endosperm is absent and lacks food

Monocot leaves have parallel venation

Dicot leaves have reticulate venation