Find Your Free Essay Examples

ECG stands for electrocardiograph.

ECG stands for electrocardiograph. It gives a graphical representation of the electrical activity of the heart during a cardiac cycle which helps to further detect the abnormalities and help us to measure the functioning of the heart. To obtain a standard ECG graph, a patient is connected to the machine with three electrical leads, one to each wrist and to the left ankle, that continuously monitor the heart activity and functioning. The human heart produces an electrical impulse passing through our heart, it generates an electrical impulse by itself. 

There are mainly three different types of ECG is performed:

It  represents the electrical excitation (or depolarisation) of the atria, which leads to the contraction of both the atria.

It represents the depolarisation of the ventricles, which initiates the ventricular contraction.

Size of the ventricular chambers (i.e., the larger the chamber, the larger the voltage) Nearness of chest electrodes to ventricular chamber (the closer, the larger the voltage)

It represents the return of the ventricles from excited to normal state (repolarisation) and the end of the T-wave marks the end of systole. The normal peak of the T wave is usually in the same direction as the QRS wave except in the right precordial leads. In the normal ECG the T wave is always upright. By counting the number of QRS complexes that occur in a given time period, a person can determine the heart beat rate of an individual.

Electrocardiograph machine includes:

Three major types of ECG test are there:

The main function of ECG is to obtain information regarding the heart impulse. There is a great medical use of this information regarding your health issues like:

(a) Wilhelm His (b) Steward (c) Hubert Mann (d) Willem Einthoven Answer: (d)

(a) ST-segment elevation (b) T-wave inversion (c) Development of an abnormal Q wave (d) All of these Answer: (d)

(a) Hyponatremia (b) Hyperkalemia (c) Hyperglycemia (d) Hyperphosphatemia Answer: (b)

(a) ST Segment elevation (b) U Wave(a position deflection after the T wave) (c) Tall peaked T waves (d) Widening of the QRS complex and increased amplitude Answer: (b)

(a) Rhythm, cardiac axis (b) Conduction intervals (c) Description of the ST segments, QRS complexes, T-waves (d) All of these Answer: (d)

(a) His-bundle areas (b) Epicardium (c) Sinoatrial (SA)node (d) Atrioventricular (AV) node Answer: (c)

(a) Atrial tachycardia (b) Left bundle branch block (c) WPW (Wolff-Parkinson-White) syndrome (d) Myocardial ischemia Answer: (c)

(a) Depolarization of right ventricle (b) Depolarization of left ventricle (c) Depolarization of both atria (d) Atrial to ventricular conduction time Answer: (c)

(a) PR interval (b) P wave (c) U wave (d) The QRS complex Answer: (d)

(a) Third-Degree Atrioventricular Block (B) Second-Degree Atrioventricular Block, Type II (C) Second-Degree Atrioventricular Block, Type I (D) First-Degree Atrioventricular Block, Type II Answer: (c)

There are mainly three types of ECG peak:

ECG (electrocardiogram) measures or records  the electrical activity of our  heart at rest and also it provides information about our heart rate and rhythm. It further shows if there is any enlargement of the heart due to high blood pressure (hypertension).

ECG is done because of following reasons:

There are mainly three different types of ECG is performed: